Wisconsin Seasons

Wisconsin has four distinct seasons that play an outsized role in the daily lives of its residents. But while we often think of the change of seasons based on weather-related events that can occur earlier or later in a given year (the changing leaf colors, the first snowfall, the blooming of new tulips), climatologists define seasons based on exact three-month periods. These are known as meteorological seasons, and they break down like this:

  • Winter (December, January, February)
  • Spring (March, April, May)
  • Summer (June, July, August)
  • Fall (September, October, November)

View Seasonal Climate Data